Review | Red Queen

Start to Red Queen Trilogy
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Published: February 10, 2014 from HarperTeen
Genre: YA fantasy
My Rating: 3/5

The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.

But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?

There was too much hype. I truly think that if I didn’t go into this book believing all the hype and expecting it to be this wonderful masterpiece, I would of enjoyed it way more than I did. It kinda makes me sad, because the concept is so up my alley and usually I can deal with corny writing and stuff like that. But I just couldn’t look past anything with this one. My brain was constantly on full critique mode. Okay let me just get this out of my system.

( source )

Pretty much through out the whole book, I was thinking ‘it’s Avatar in YA Fantasy book form!’ Another reason why I’m so disappointed with this one. It had the potential to be great! Mare is the reason. I did not like her. If it wasn’t for her I would of loved the book. But she was simply a brat. In main characters you always find flaws, and you either accept those flaws or learn to deal with them. Mare had many flaws and as hard as I tried to get past them, they would just keep bothering me. Her character didn’t have a lot of development, it wasn’t until she realized she screwed up big time that she tried to do the sensible thing. She was also really indecisive, it wasn’t just in a few incidents where she was like that. It was the whole book. Another thing, she thought she knew everything and that everything comes down to her. Grrh I’m so done with her. But where Mare lack proficiently, Cal made up for it. Which, thank the heavens because if it wasn’t for him, I would of threw this book at someone. Cal was honorable, respected people, and stuck to his mind. No matter how it ended up with him, I would of stood by him. He could of killed everyone off and I would of been okay with it. Oh Maven. You were a puzzle. But I really enjoyed you too. Now the plot, I really had fun with this world and how everything was coming together or falling apart (however you look at it). I feel invented in wanting to know what will happen to this world. Which will probably prompt me to read the next book. Fingers crossed I’ll like the next one better than this one. So one more chance Mare, don’t act stupid.

3 stars What were your thoughts on this one?

One thought on “Review | Red Queen

Leave a Reply

