Isla, Isla, Isla. A sorta review

Isla and the Happily Ever After

IslaHappilyEverAfterSmall

By: Stephanie Perkins

I’m actually not going to give you to much information on this book. Because if you haven’t heard of it, go read Anna and the French Kiss first then Lola. My thoughts on the first two here. Basically it’s one of the best contemporary books series thing I’ve read in a long time. They’re companion novels but read them in that order, Anna, Lola and then Isla. Don’t question it just do it.

I actually haven’t read these books that long ago, so I didn’t have to endure the pain of waiting years for this one. (But the wait was still painful) So when it arrived a week early, I was literally jumping up and down. I think I was just as excited to receive all the goodies also. 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

yes I was so excited. I even took a picture

So now on to my thoughts on the book. Oh my. It was everything I was excepting and then some, if that is even possible. Although it might be the just finished reading high, I’m feeling right now but I don’t care. It was the best out of all of them. And yes, it does pain me to say that. It was just more emotional, raw and sexy. Much more sexy than the last two. I like sexy. Ohmygod

And Isla, I just understood her. More than I understood Anna or Lola. Which is super surprising because I am nothing like Isla at all. But for some unknown reason, I was able to connect with her. Being inside her head was nice. It wasn’t too over bearing, even though her emotions were all over the place. I’m probably not making sense.

Let’s move on to Josh. Oh Josh. Josh. Josh. Maybe I should title this post Josh, Josh, Josh. I was already smitten with Josh in Anna, so with having that background of already knowing him as a secondary character previously. It wasn’t that hard to fall for him. Like I’m pretty sure I was two pages in and I was a lost cause. But I loved Isla and Josh together. So much. That was one aspect that was different with this one was that, it wasn’t a story about how they got together but one of how they stayed together. It showed that not all relationships are butterflies and fairies all the time, and sometimes things can get better the second time around. I loved how their love for each other was formed quickly but it was strong. And sometimes wishes do come true. Because they were your fate or destiny or some other romantic word.

Stephanie really did out do herself with this one. For me it was perfect, and I can really see how she’s changed as a writer but is still very true to how her writing always has been. But this time around she was able to take me on a emotional roller coaster. I was crying for happiness and then sad tears and then happy tears. It was a long night. And right after I finished I just wanted to experience it all over again.

So now here I am coming with the terms that it’s over. This series is over, and I’m dying. Can we get like 50 extra pages? How about a 10 year down the line novella? Something? Meredith’s Story? Anything?

SIGH. I guess all I can do is keep rereading these books. I just can’t let go. I don’t really want to. All these characters are favorites of mine, I even remember the minor roles. All of these books are so remarkable. I think Stephanie ruined all other contemporary books for me, just because they’re not written by her.

Have you gotten your hands one it yet? Your thoughts? Are you excited to read this one if you haven”t before? I need someone to talk about this book with. It’s killing me.

6 thoughts on “Isla, Isla, Isla. A sorta review

  1. I don’t have a copy yet but I’m dying (no exaggeration at all…) to get my hands on one! I’m so glad that you enjoyed it! Although you have made me a little nervous about needing tissues for all the tears (happy tears or not!). Lovely spoilerfree review!

    Like

  2. I’m so glad to hear you liked this one! I have yet to read any negative thoughts, so my hopes are high – I’m just waiting for my library hold to come in. I’ve heard other people day Isla is the most relatable of Perkins’s protagonists as well. I’m crossing my fingers I’ll love this as much as you did.

    Like

Leave a Reply

