Guardians of the Galaxy

movie review (1)

Guardians of the Galaxy

18b149286ca6f2920e017bd5d2ffcbf5

(source: marvel)

 

First Glance:

I actually didn’t hear about this movie until 30 minutes prior to actually watching it. Which makes me the worst Marvel fan that ever lived. I’m starting to believe I live under a rock. I just don’t understand, have I’ve been reading too many books that I’ve been lacking on my movie news? That’s probably it. No. I don’t think so. That being said I went into the theater thinking ‘I hope this isn’t stupid’ Because seriously that poster..

Realization hits:

What is wrong with me.

Leaving the theater:

Oh. My. That was pretty awesome. So it probably took me a good 10 minutes to realize that this was in fact a part of Marvel. Which  is quite a long time. The movie was spectacular, it had everything that embodies Marvel. It was funny, snarky, and completely badass. I really enjoyed Chris Pratt in playing the main character. I believe he did a wonderful job bring both the seriousness and funny that the movie was setting out to do. But for me it was more on the funny side.

The whole ensemble of the film was indeed the classic superhero story., and the theme of teamwork and trusting others was thrown in there very nicely. Watching this movie really was an emotional ride, at times I could be laughing then not even five minutes later they were making my eyes teary. I enjoyed all of the secondary characters’ subplots and I can’t wait to see more of them. I really enjoyed all of the characters and I think the way they all contributed to the story was perfect. All of the guardians strengths and weaknesses played together very cleverly.

I also thoroughly enjoyed all of the music that was put into the film, it gave it that realism. And sometimes took the seriousness out of a lot of parts, and reminded you that that the movie is just for fun. Because if they tried to make this movie too serious it would of failed.

Also, at first in the first credits at the start of the film when they had Vin Diesel and Bradley Cooper names. I spent a good part trying to figure out who the hell they were playing. I had to look it up online when I got home. Bradley Cooper plays Rocket and Vin Diesel plays Groot. Which surprised me.

Overall:

You can’t take this movie too serious, but it’s a very enjoyable ride. It’s actually one of my favorite movie that Marvel produced, and I really want to see more of it and the world that they built up. I just noticed this, I watched it the day it premiered. Before all of the record breaking hype came.

Have you watched GOTG yet? What was your opinion?

Leave a Reply

