Review | Perkins Style

perkins style

 A few weeks back I looked at Anna and the French Kiss, and asked myself  ‘why haven’t I read you?’ So I did the obvious and read it.  And Lola. It was the perfect time to read it with Isla right around the corner. Here were my thoughts. It’s quite a mess.

♥ Anna and the French Kiss ♥tumblr_n53am8apJ71tauis2o1_500

 

Where do I even begin? I can’t even explain my love for this book it was is perfection. I loved it from the first page, and as I got to know the characters my love just grew stronger. If that was even possible. I can’t believe I passed up on this book, just due to the hype. But I finally convinced myself to read it, and now I’m here cursing myself. ‘Like really Sa? This is like chocolate fudge in book form. You should be punished for your deed.’ I really do. I read this book in one sitting, because I couldn’t even convince myself to get up and do something. I just couldn’t get enough. By far the best contemporary I’ve ever read but I don’t really read that much contemporary. I think this book has gotten me into the genre more, and thank god. This is just me praising this book, and I don’t even care.

Stephanie Perkins’ writing style is so flawless when it comes to contemporary, she is truly gifted at writing them. I loved how she made it so honest and raw. It didn’t feel structured or planned out, more like the book was just going with the flow. That’s how a contemporary is done right.

Characters

I loved all of them. Yes, they all were very flawed and sometimes didn’t really think about their actions before acting but they felt so real. Sometimes I even felt like I was right at the lunch table with them talking. And that’s how it should be. This book reminded be why I love reading so much. To feel something, for the words to come off the page and transform in front of you into something beautiful. To get a greater sense on life, and learn though the mistakes of others. And to get those butterflies in your stomach when, the perfectly imperfect guy shows up.

Etienne

He is amazing. Usually in stories where someone is already in a relationship it throws me completely off. But it was done so perfectly, that I really didn’t really mind it. It was a part of his character growth. And I really loved that it never turned into cheating, which is something that has to be taken seriously . He just had to realize what was the path he wanted.

Anna

I’ve never loved a main character quite as Anna. She is just so interesting and I would love to be her friend, even if it is just for a day. She learns a lot and her growth is slow but it’s the right speed. If the makes sense. Perkins made a beautiful main character.

Setting

I absolutely loved that the setting was in Paris. And Perkins got it so right. I live in Germany going to an American High school, and  I’m originally from Florida. So I totally got it what Anna was going through. The way Perkins described the feeling of Europe, and of Europeans is so spot on.. And it is truly not the same when you go back to the states. All the sudden you’re aware of all the differences, and how it’s not as beautiful. It is hard for me to go back to the states, so I totally understood where Anna was coming from. Especially with her friends in Atlanta, you forget that they have lives too. And it’s not stopping just because you’re not there.

Overall, I clearly loved this book to death. And it sold me on Stephanie. I am a true fan of hers now.

 

♥ Lola and the Boy Next Door ♥tumblr_n53am8apJ71tauis2o2_500


OH gawd. I also loved this book. But I  didn’t read this book as quickly as Anna but it was just as good. Before I read it, I saw some people saying how it was somewhat disappointing. But I really don’t see how. Yes, it was a whole lot different from Anna. And yes, it was taking a lot of risks. And yes the writing wasn’t better than Anna but it wasn’t worse either. You also have to remember Perkins actually wrote Lola first. So she had more experience with writing when she wrote Anna. But by the end everything came together so flawless, just like Anna.

Perkins is a genius. How she incorporated Anna and Etienne into Lola’s life, and how she’s setting it up for Isla. It’s just so perfect. I don’t know how she does it without it feeling too perfect and too set up. She just does.  And the romance was just as wonderful as always. I love how she was able to make you feel the growth within Lola. It felt like I was in her mind going through exactly what she was and was growing with her. For a writer to be able to do that, they must be pretty darn great at what they do.

Lola. Dolores. Lola. Oh, how you took forever. But I wouldn’t ask for anything otherwise. Or it wouldn’t of been as realistic and amazing.

Cricket. Oh boy, Cricket. I kinda went into this book expecting for him to be, some type of conceited asshole. Based on the first few chapters. But he was just the opposite. And okay I might love him more than Etienne. Just a little tiny bit. Etienne will still have a special place in my heart. Forever and Always. Cricket is just too kind and sweet, and the best person you could of probably meet. He’s so smart and he doesn’t even realize it. He is so extraordinary, that I couldn’t just help but fall in love with him. My only complaint is the there is not enough Cricket. I think I need a whole book just on him to make me happy. Like seriously it could just be of him walking in the park, and I’ll read it.

But Anna still edges out Lola because it didn’t make me want to throw the book at the wall. Which is what Lola did to me, but it was a good frustrating well as good as they can get. Overall, it’s another favorite of mine and still had icing like everywhere. That’s how I feel when reading these books. Like I’m eating icing. Bliss.

 

♥ Isla and the Happily Ever After ♥tumblr_n53am8apJ71tauis2o3_500

All that’s left to do is wait. I read the first 50 pages and I’m dying now. I’m not going to be able to handle it.

(source of gifs)

 

I’m sorta taking part in a read-a-long.

islaiscoming-badge2

Click image for more details. Image made by Meg.

I’m just following along with all the posts. Since I already finished both books. And I’m being very impatient for Isla.  So this will help fill the void until it’s here. It needs to already be here.

I can’t help myself, these banners are so gorgeous. Also made by Meg.

islaiscoming

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “Review | Perkins Style

  1. Pingback: Isla, Isla, Isla. A sorta review | Sa's World

Leave a Reply

